lessons from lumen

I feel as though Lumen and I are hitting our stride. It’s been such a wonky, unexpected journey.

This dog, as a puppy, wasn’t motivated. Hated drills. Still does. So trying to teach her a skill that requires some degree of repetition? Painful. I sort of gave up on her, especially once I got Loki. I thought she’s too slow, she’ll never be the dog I want to handle, I’ll never be able to do all the cool stuff with her. Plus she doesn’t really like agility, so whatever. She showed that she was pretty anxious about dogwalks in trials, so I stopped entering agility, only entered jumping. I’ve always liked jumping more anyway so it worked for me. I pulled us from all the trials over summer for this reason or that (too hot, too tired, too fluffy, too can’t be bothered). I stopped training her, for the most part. Sometimes if I had a course set up for Loki or for my Monday night class I would run her through it. Every time I ran her through I was surprised by how pleasant she was to run. How it was nice to have time. Time to think, time to catch her going wide, going to the wrong obstacle, time to redirect her if I needed.

I love running Loki, it’s the funnest. But he is like running while juggling chainsaws. Any slip, any accidental shoulder turn can result in disaster. In fact, I’ve had to tone it down with Loki, become a handler I never wanted to be. Rely on distance work over running, because running just makes him so frenetic and there’s no ways bars can stay up and he really needs to be able to THINK right now. So I’ve slowed down. I do rear crosses. I send him out out out and front cross him way over here.

And then I get to run Lu. Suddenly, Lu is so fun. So much fun. Never the dog I had expected, and it’s taken me 3 years with her to find this joy, but we have it, I think, it’s growing. Every competition, I come out laughing and loving her because I can be stupid and brave in my handling. I can look at a threadle and go: “Lumen HATES threadles!!! How can I handle this differently??” and put in a Japanese turn instead (on the course this weekend, there were 3 Japanese turns I put in because I know how much she sends out and didn’t want her thinking everything was to be serpentined and also call-offs from jumps are stupid and confusing for her, too. I need to be super obvious in my handling to keep her happy). I blind cross where nobody dares to blind cross. I race her, everywhere, all the time. I never stop moving. I shape every turn because she hates to turn so much. I trust her commitment so much that sometimes it’s too much and she runs over to me and goes; “You’re an idiot, what are you even trying to do right now?”. She will never be the winning dog, unless the winning dogs don’t make it around clear. Her jumps are HUGE, just because. She likes to get maximum height and minimum distance. Totally the most ineffective jumping style I’ve ever seen, but can you imagine me trying to do repetitions of jump grids with her? Ha! But she rarely knocks bars. And maybe with time and more experience, she’ll get more confident, get the hang of her striding, her jumping.

So I suppose Lu has taught me not to give up, to give things time, to enjoy a steadier pace, to not assume you have to have a fast dog to enjoy the run, that you can usually handle a setup in a multitude of ways, even if 90% of the handlers in the ring are all doing it the same. So today I am glad for Lu. I’m sorry to have given up on her for a little while there. I’m glad we’re a team, that we’re finding our ways to work together.

She is such a splodgy dork, after all.

4 thoughts on “lessons from lumen

  1. Both of your dogs are speed demons compared to mine.Of course, I haven’t much experience with agility; we just do it for fun in the backyard with cheap or makeshift equipment. But my dog’s like,
    “whatever, this is fun, hum-dee-dum, taking my time…”
    She lacks enthusiasm for anything but sniffing out birds, which is what her breed is supposed to do. But I love the silly dog to death. 🙂
    Anyway, your dogs are amazing.

    • Em says:

      Thank you for your comment! 🙂
      I used to struggle with Lu not necessarily because she would walk or trot and not be interested (she was never like that) but because she didn’t ‘look’ like the other fast dogs and she wasn’t passionate about agility or getting rewarded.
      I took Polona Bonač’s ‘Let’s Play!’ Class and can highly recommend it!! It was one of the best classes I’ve done and made such a difference to lumen’s desire to work. She’s still so different to Loki but so much better than she was. Even if you never plan to compete, it was a great class on play and building a relationship with your dog. 🙂

  2. So glad you posted again!
    One of the things that I’m grateful for with Vito’s slower speeds in trial is pushing me to become a very aggressive handler with him! Blind all the things! He loves Japanese turns for threadles too 🙂

    • Em says:

      Yes exactly!!! Blind all the things!!! It feels exactly like your term- being an aggressive handler. Always moving, always pushing forward, going in deep and running out hard. No lazy distance work for us 😉

Leave a Reply

