things are weird up close

A couple of weeks ago I ordered a ‘clip on’ lens for my iphone – actually it came with 3 lenses – marco, fish-eye and wide-angle. I got it for the wide angle because I film most of my agility stuff in slow-mo and in the iPhone it crops it so much… The other two just came along with it. I tried the wide-angle the other day and it didn’t seem to work – kept having the edge of the lens in the frame so I’m not sure if that’s operator error of what but I thought it would be fun today to get a photo of Loki’s toe to show how it’s healing… I’ll put that and the rest of the photos under the cut. Some people don’t like this stuff and I think everything looks all weird.

Loki got an off-lead run with Lumen today, with his foot bandaged. I had taken him for an off-lead walk yesterday but it’s so wet here at the moment that I think it softened and came back a little less stable than it was when we left. So I kept an eye on it today and as soon as I felt it was too soft, we went home. But he got to run with Lumen through the burnt bit of the forest we visited, so plenty of ‘natures cavalettis’ to navigate. Plus he actually got to RUN – because what better to really stretch out and run than to try and beat Lumen nowhere.

Still waiting on the yeast thing to clear up. I think it’s focusing all its strength on the webbing between two of the toes and is fading out slowly on the rest of the foot. VERY SLOWLY. I got some wipes from the produce store (um… that’s like a store which sells things for horses, in Australia. Not a fruit & veg store) which are meant to be anti-bacterial & anti fungal. Figure it can’t hurt.

On to the photos!

First there was the photo of his toe. This thing lets me get ridiculously close up…

As you can see, healing up pretty well. I've started putting

As you can see, healing up pretty well. I’ve started putting “Tuff foot” on it now to try and toughen it up – hence why there’s a yellow-y tinge to it. You can see the ‘split’ that’s worrying me – the tip of the toe is still trying to decide what to do with itself and isn’t all that keen to strongly re-attach to the main part of the toe.

Then I grabbed my dogs and forced them to have my phone shoved close to various parts of their faces…

Noses look SO COOL up close!!! This reminds me of a lizard!!

Noses look SO COOL up close!!! This reminds me of a lizard!! Or a snake’s face…! Yeah that’s it! The nose-holes should have eyes in them and BAM – snake face.

I discovered that Lumen has teeeeeny tiny bits of dirt on her eyelashes...

I discovered that Lumen has teeeeeny tiny bits of dirt on her eyelashes…

IMG_3262-1

And that Loki’s eye is very nice for photographing…

But Lumen's eye is so pale that it's SUPER reflective. Which spoils it. :(

But Lumen’s eye is so pale that it’s SUPER reflective. Which spoils it. 😦 You can see our Egg reflected in her eye, and the clip-on lens thing. You have no idea how close I had to put this to their eye for it to focus.

But it's still really pretty...

But it’s still really pretty…Though a bit weird with the veiney bits and stuff. And her eyelashes look like echidna’s spikes – brown at the base and black at the top.

And then a photo of his nose

Leave a Reply

