gratitude, joy, love

We had a professional development day at school today and the 2nd speaker talked about Positive Psychology, and how this relates to education (somewhat). I really love psychology and personality-based stuff, I find it super fascinating. I wonder sometimes if I won’t get into psych somewhere down the line…

Anyway, we did our test to find our character strengths. Mine are:

Creativity
Thinking of new ways to do things is a crucial part of who you are. You are never content with doing something the conventional way if a better way is possible.

Judgment
Thinking things through and examining them from all sides are important aspects of who you are. You do not jump to conclusions, and you rely only on solid evidence to make your decisions. You are able to change your mind.

Prudence
You are a careful person, and your choices are consistently prudent ones. You do not say or do things that you might later regret.

Humility
You do not seek the spotlight, preferring to let your accomplishments speak for themselves. You do not regard yourself as special, and others recognize and value your modesty.

Hope
You expect the best in the future, and you work to achieve it. You believe that the future is something that you can control.

I agree with all of them as being my top 5!

One of the things she spoke about was the model for finding/experiencing/creating happiness and fulfilment/well-being, and one of the aspects of this was experiencing Positive Engagement. I still have some reading I’d like to do on this whole thing, but I understood this to mean finding gratitude/joy/inspiration/hope often, and this is something I feel I don’t do very well. I also saw a link the other day for “100 Happy Doggy days“, which is aiming to bring awareness to pet health and obesity by encouraging people to get out and walk their dogs for 100 days. Now, for my guys this generally isn’t an issue, although they don’t necessarily get a walk every day, we certainly do some kind of physical activity together every day (although I do think a full ‘day off’ every now and then is important, too!). So I thought I might combine the two. Rather than spamming you here, maybe I’ll take photos throughout the week and do a weekly photo-post of our gratitude and dog-walking stuff.

But since we went to the beach today, here is Day 1. 🙂 I love going to the beach and hanging out with my guys. It’s stress free (apart from when Loki tries to drown himself by getting dunked by a massive wave) cos there’s nothing for Lu to chase, no dogs for Mal to worry about, and Loki can endlessly play fetch in the water without hurting himself. Lu is calm and subdued on the beach these days, which is weird, but again, there’s less potential injuries that way. It’s very nice. Now that it’s warming up I might start swimming too.

Love this guy. Sent him out to wrap a tree while I stood back to take photos. Such a champ.

Love this guy. Sent him out to wrap a tree while I stood back to take photos. Such a champ.

Do you like my cool photo effects? (the light was weird so I played around with lightroom a bit).

Do you like my cool photo effects? (the light was weird so I played around with lightroom a bit).

"Ready, ready.... GO!"

“Ready, ready…. GO!”

Some more most excellent photographic effects.

Some more most excellent photographic effects.

One thought on “gratitude, joy, love

Leave a Reply

