iliopsoas

We finally got Lu to the rehab vet guy last night. He had come highly recommended by some friends so we drove the hour + out of town to the very fancy vet practice. He asked what was going on and I told him: “Nothing really, just a feeling. She walks funny, doesn’t seem free of movement, jumps weird, pace-walks often, Oh, and I noticed recently that she can’t bend.” 

So we walked up and back in their rehab area, and went in and out of some cones (and can I say, her FOCUS for this was incredible??? I didn’t have food on me, we were in a completely new place with so many distractions, and I was basically asking her to heel… and yet, she was prancing along, nipping my sleeve, jumping and bouncing… she probably thought I had treats so hopefully wasn’t too disappointed when I didn’t provide!), and then they laid her on her side to check her out (and she HATES being forced onto her side). Then BAM – found a SUPER sensitive, super painful spot.

“Typical iliopsoas sprain,” the vet says. And I instantly remember reading that these take at least 6 weeks of rest to recover. Great.

So he says we can either do laser therapy twice a week for 2-3 weeks, and rehab stretches and exercises, or do a longer period of rest and anti-inflams. I’m all for the ‘get it stronger for a permanent solution’ so I’m going rehab and laser. In the meantime, I have to try and avoid her bending – so, no wrestling with Loki, no running around off-lead… Nice on-lead walks only. Oh boy. But the stricter I am now, the faster it will heal, and given that we’re moving house in a little under a month it’s actually probably the ideal time to have to do this as I can dedicate weekends to packing or driving to the new place with stuff rather than training. 

Not that we’ve been training anyway. As I thought about it on the way home, I figured out that we’ve probably had 2 good weeks of training since January. Because she got sick in January- then had about 6-8 weeks recovery before we started anything. When we started it was only backyard stuff and only weaves. When she was able to do courses again, I sprained my calf muscle so we had about another 4-6 weeks of only light/no training. Then my calf got better and the ground has been so soggy and slippery that we haven’t been able to train very much/at all, OH! And then she got desexed so was out for a couple of weeks there, and now she needs another (???) weeks rest off. Yes, I’ve been going to the training club some Saturdays but I hardly think that once a week running a sequence once or twice and doing a dogwalk a couple of times counts as training. So, oh well. What the hell is another 6-8-10 weeks hey? Might as well try and see out the year at this rate! 

But at least now there’s something to work on – I don’t expect it will fix her jumping style, I have a feeling that’s just how she is structurally, but it should certainly help her be able to turn easier, and move freer (that’s a weird word, just saying) and maybe therefore run faster and weave better! Maybe that’s why she was having so much trouble with her weaves, too!! 

And I’m glad I wasn’t just paranoid or seeing things that weren’t there, too.  Time to do some research and take these dogs for a nice on-lead walk (except Loki, who needs to RUN daily).

11 thoughts on “iliopsoas

  1. Rosie says:

    Damn, I’m so sorry! That is an injury that takes forever to get back to “normal.” but yeah, during a move might be the best time. Give her a pat from RRR ok?

    • Em says:

      Yeah I just read a blog where someone’s BC took 6 months and they were still just building up jumps and stuff. But her BC was actually lame and not putting weight on one leg so I’m guessing worse than Lu’s…
      Thanks, I will 🙂

  2. Poor Lu! Hey, even with a bum leg she is still one of the most gorgeous dogs I’ve ever seen 🙂 hopefully the healing time passes quickly& just think of it as time dedicated to Loki!

    • Em says:

      I think I did see that class (sorry for the late reply, wordpress thought you were spam, sigh) but it read more like preventative than if your dog already has the injury, so I didn’t sign up. We’ve been doing rehab and have had other friends use this rehab vet too with great results for the same injury and she’s already so much more flexible than she was and they’re really pleased with her progress so hopefully she’ll be back to it really soon with no further issues. 🙂

  3. Penny says:

    Oh so good to have got some confirmation! Yay! And much better to have found it now than letting it tear further!

    Pan says leash walks suck balls!

    • Penny says:

      And crap to never getting to not be rehabbing lumen, I mean holy crap how much more can happen to one dog before she is 2?

      • Em says:

        I know, it’s been a pretty shitty year. But I guess it was bound to happen- Mal’s 10 and the worst thing that’s happened is that he ate chocolate once. So, she’s making up for him, I guess. Rehab isn’t too bad, we can do it absentmindedly while watching TV, and Cam and Emi (and Trish) all rave about this guy and have all had heaps of success with no recurring problems so let’s hope for that.
        Lu just thinks it’s dumb and she feels fine and keeps trying to make Mal wrestle because Loki’s in the crate.

  4. Penny says:

    yes this is the same guy Jess has been wanting me to see with Pan! I was booked in last week but had to cancel, now I will see him this Thursday. So good to hear you liked him! It is such a long way to go find out. I feel much better now.

    • Em says:

      Thursday!!! We’ll be there too Thursday evening! Yeah they had an interesting manner with Lu- weren’t sort of as ‘coddling’ as some people, but they sure found her sore spot & didn’t pressure me to go back for ongoing treatments- said we could just do rest (slower option) or laser & exercises. Everyone has said they’ve had lots of success (I might have said that already. Don’t remember!)

Leave a Reply

