on the plus side

I hate the world and everything in it and I'm never leaving my crate ever again. Ever.

I hate the world and everything in it and I’m never leaving my crate ever again. Ever.

As I mentioned, Lu was getting (and did get) spayed on Monday. The operation went very well and I picked her up Monday afternoon wobbly and tired but happy to see me. Being Lumen, I knew instantly the effect that having a shaved stomach with stitches in would have on her so we got her home, set up a crate with a nice soft comfortable bed, and in she went. And she slept, and slept, and slept so deeply I worried she wasn’t waking up, but she woke up. And she ate with a big appetite. 

The next day she was not so wobbly or tired, and I took her into school. She slept in her crate and hardly lifted her head. 

The thing that I find funniest about her is that she’ll be fine, right, happy to be walking around, tail wagging, normal girl- and then suddenly, her stomach gets ‘activated’ and she twitches, spasms and dives for the nearest soft thing- whether that’s a bed, a blanket, a towel, a couch, a cushion, and she’ll curl up in the smallest ball and look so sad and worried. When she was sick last time she must have been feeling much worse because she was hardly up and about by this point. But we’ve been doing some games and training and went for a walk in the morning (which seems to take her mind off it)… And then this morning I took the paper tape off the incision and we’re back to 2 days ago where I have to take her harness and guide her off her bed and almost straight away she’ll spasm and be desperate to find somewhere to curl up again. 

So, on the plus side – keeping her quiet to heal is very easy because she’s quite content to curl up in a small ball and not move for a few hours. 

Loki on the other hand is going to be a real pain because he’s going to feel fine by day 2 and want to run around VERY FAST and play with Lu.

Ok, fine, but this is as FAR out as I'm coming. Now bring me food, right to my mouth. I'm not going to get up to eat or drink.

Ok, fine, but this is as FAR out as I’m coming. Now bring me food, right to my mouth. I’m not going to get up to eat or drink.

Lu just wants to be on something very soft and in a very small ball. 

Leave a Reply

