A quick thought.

Lu’s trial on Saturday went well. Looking back at the video I had a thought re: her slicing jumps rather than bending around them. If you look at the screenshot below, she favours taking off far from the bar. I already knew this. But then I thought that in terms of physics (and how one can move one’s body), when you take off that far, bending yourself around the bar isn’t going to be able to happen, physically. I don’t think. In fact, I just tried it myself by jumping over a draft-stop snake thing and sure enough, you can’t.
So how about using mat targeting like we did when we were working through Hit the Ground Running – put it nice and close to the bar, and work bends with a mat for a while. I’m so, so useless at one-bar stuff like this but I think she really needs to do it. It can’t be good on her body to constantly land in a slice and then have to adjust herself to get to where she needs to be – better to be curving and landing facing the right direction. Also means my handling is better because she’s not landing wider than what I think she should.

 

Thoughts, clever internet people?

It's a bit fuzzy, probably, but she's coming at this jump and taking off already - I'm telling her we're going to her right - not in a tight wrap, but a bend would be useful. But, I don't think it would be physically possible for her to bend, given how far away she's taking off. I think it HAS to carry her forward... I don't THINK my handling is so bad that it's saying "we're going over there so you should slice this bar", but possibly I need to cue even EARLIER but the problem is, is that because she takes off so early, there's really not a heap of time between one obstacle and another to cue stuff. I'll post up the video later so you can see.

It’s a bit fuzzy, probably, but she’s coming at this jump and taking off already – I’m telling her we’re going to her right – not in a tight wrap, but a bend would be useful. But, I don’t think it would be physically possible for her to bend, given how far away she’s taking off. I think it HAS to carry her forward… I don’t THINK my handling is so bad that it’s saying “we’re going over there so you should slice this bar”, but possibly I need to cue even EARLIER but the problem is, is that because she takes off so early, there’s really not a heap of time between one obstacle and another to cue stuff. I’ll post up the video later so you can see.

Part 2... So she looks like she's looking the right way but you can tell she's going to land facing the wrong way and in the middle of that bar

Part 2… So she looks like she’s looking the right way with her nose, but you can tell she’s going to land facing the wrong way and in the middle of that bar

For Penny 🙂
The events leading up to the shot. Possibly I was late cuing the turn, yes, though it’s not the first time she’s sliced like this when I thought my cues were pretty obvious. But maybe not early enough even then.

 

9 thoughts on “A quick thought.

  1. Penny says:

    Can you post screen shots of where you and her are a stride before she takes off? From the class I have just done you need to know what you are both doing in the commitment stage (usually the stride before take off) to analysis if it is a cueing issue vs a physical issue.

    • Em says:

      Yes. As you know I’m all about trying to cue early and felt like I was early enough but because of where she takes off (instead of putting in another stride) I’m starting to cue one stride ahead of takeoff rather than 2, and even then it might be too slow. And I think in this scenario I could have handled it better perhaps by facing the way we were going and cuing like this but I think that in general she finds bending very hard. All the times where she should have ‘bent’ on courses, she sliced. I’m not debating, though, and I’m very curious to hear your thoughts. 🙂
      I put a little gallery on this post so if you refresh it it should be there now. 🙂

      • Em says:

        Yeah. Looking at the sequence, when she was starting to take the stride before take-off I was definitely saying “slice this! we’re going that way” but then turned before she took off but obviously for her that’s too late. Maybe when I get home I’ll have another look through some other slices and see if it’s the same thing there, too.

      • Penny says:

        Nah I think you are cuing early enough. Number 4 looks pretty good, nothing about that says slice, it says collect and bend. I agree she is not a bendy dog (so that is CERTAINLY a massive factor) Interesting your position over the bar is to the right of the jump, and yet you actually want her to wrap (or bend) on the left side. I wonder what she would do if you were in the same position but over the the left? Like if you were doing 6 at 4 instead?

      • Penny says:

        A FC more like this? If you do this does she put the extra collection stride in? Just thinking of things to experiment with.

      • Em says:

        Thankyou for your comments and eyes. 🙂 I start to get paranoid that I’m really late. I think ideally I would prefer to be doing 6 at 4, eg being REALLY obvious about which direction we’re going at the stride before. It sure looks like I was out to the right of the bar but maybe there was something in the course that needed me there or something. It was an interesting angle – I was going to blind it but then was worried she wouldn’t take that bar so there must have been some angle there to worry me enough to need to make it really obvious. I’ll put the video up when I get home and maybe that will help, too.

      • Em says:

        You know, watching the video, I wonder if she landed exactly where I marked.
        That being said, she still takes off from a long way away and she would still find it very difficult to bend from that far. So maybe it’s a ‘double-edged sword’ so to speak.
        I do love to analyse. 😉

Leave a Reply

