blogging: why, who for, what for?

This photo has absolutely nothing to do with this post, just that it's a nice photo from the weekend and has Javelin being Javelin and also I think that all blog posts should have photos when possible.

This photo has absolutely nothing to do with this post, just that it’s a nice photo from the weekend and has Javelin being Javelin and also I think that all blog posts should have photos when possible.

I recently got added to a Facebook group for Australian Pet Bloggers, and instantly the talk turned to getting more traffic, or using this application or site, or that social networking outlet as a way to reach more people. And I’m ok with that, because that’s why some people blog, but I’m sort of feeling like the girl at the party sitting in the corner with her diary writing away about stuff that pops into her head. And so I actually posted on the group how I find the concept of blogging for somebody else to be really fascinating (which I do!) and that it can actually be used as a place to do something other than constantly obsess over training things and compulsively crop screenshots of handling that you’ve watched in slow-mo at least 23 times until you’re sure that you know all the precise handling things you needed to work on and also where the holes in your training can be found. Not that I do anything like that.

At all.

But then Bodhi over at 1st World Dog did a whole post about the same concept and very kindly linked over to my little corner of the internet as a good place to find a more traditional ‘journal style’ blog with useful training tidbits (once you sort through all the Lumen-specific problem solving I suppose!). She does say it very tactfully that I “analyse my dogs” – that’s one way of putting it, but I wonder what other people get out of coming here. I once tried to offer people advice on training tricks but then I felt like I was being a bit of a know-it-all, and although I quite like offering advice (it’s a teacher thing, maybe?), I like to do it on a one-on-one kind of basis and that advice is based on understanding the problem through thorough assessment. I don’t like to sit here and go: “I know how to teach this thing so this is how you should all do it”.. which is what, I think, a ‘training advice’ section would feel like, to me.

Which leads me to the point of this post which is to give a big hello shoutout to my readers.  Apparently I have 93 followers. 93!!! Maybe the 100th person will get a prize. I don’t know what that prize will be. Depends where you live.

Not that I’m going to give better prizes to someone from one country vs. a different country but the cost to ship something to someone in Melbourne is going to be very different to shipping something to someone in the UK.
Looking through my list of followers it seems like many people have been fooled by me tagging a post with ‘fitness’ or ‘adventures’ and have expected to find some BMX riding gym junkie. Sorry about that.

If you’re not here because you’ve been deceived, somehow, into following my blog, I’d like to know some things. Let’s call it market research.

Do you still read what I’m writing?

What would you like to see more of?
What would you like to see less of? (and don’t say ‘analysing your dog training problems’. That’s not gonna happen)

If you actually come to the blog, is the layout ok? It’s been around for a while and I get bored of things easily so maybe it’s nearly time for a change.

Is there anything I can do to make your blog reading experience a more enjoyable one?

 

Hurray! Let’s have a feedback party.

And…

Go.

 

20 thoughts on “blogging: why, who for, what for?

  1. Ok, but first… I CAN”T REPLY!!! this is like my 20th attempt. If it doesn’t work, I’m sending it to Penny and she can forward it to you. Because, yeah… why can’t I reply????

    • Em says:

      Omg
      I can’t believe after your comment on your blog the other day that I didn’t check in the spam! Then Penny posted her comment and I thought I’d better check…. Somehow, for some reason, despite you commenting previously, it had decided you were spam!
      So I’ve unspammed you and hopefully, fingers crossed, it works now.

  2. Penny says:

    By the way Rosie says she hasn’t been able to comment on your blog for the past few months for some reason. It won’t let her. I said it was because you blocked her because she wasn’t the standard of reader you were looking for and plus her dog barks too much 😉

    • Em says:

      She said that on her blog the other day but your comment prompted me to check in spam and sure enough her last 2 replies were there… can’t find any other ones though but maybe they were deleted cos they’d been in spam for too long?
      But yeah, the standard of reader is certainly right too, though.

  3. Anisa says:

    Hi! I’m here! I read because your dogs feel like family to me because you are family. And while I have a whole host of special problems that sometimes feel insurmountable with my anxiety-ridden pup, it really helps me to see you working through things with yours, be they big or small. Sometimes you give me great ideas for trying to go at a problem with Codex in an entirely new way, other times I just love knowing what you guys are up to. So keep it up, I would change very little!

    • Em says:

      So cool to have you comment Sister-in-law-in-law. 😉
      I think even if we had the most perfect puppy or dog ever we’d still find things to change or fix, if we’re proactive people… or people who like to solve problems. It’ll be so interesting to see what Loki is like as he grows. So different to Lu in terms of trainability but I’m sure there’ll be things I worry about with him, too (can we say “obsessively stalking and herding Lumen” yet?).
      I’m glad I can help sometimes with Codex. Maybe training a dog with low motivation could be similar in some ways to training a dog with anxiety issues… just that they possibly present themselves differently (and I think some of Lu’s motivation stuff is actually based in a kind of anxiety – of being wrong, or something… Though, given how self-centered she seems, I’m not 100% convinced on that front. 😉 )

      Ps. You should all move to Australia, then you wouldn’t have to read my blog to keep up with what’s going on here 😉

  4. I’m a stalker of yours! I love training blogs. Running contacts, agility, tricks! And I feel like Lu reminds me quite a bit of Vito. Minus the whole neurotic thing 🙂

    I blog for me. I like looking back at the memories as well as being able to chart progress. I’m ecstatic if someone actually comments on a post, but in general that’s not really why journal style bloggers blog. So don’t change anything!

    • Em says:

      Hello another stalker!
      I just popped over to your blog but haven’t had a chance to read much aside from the first post. Vito sounds like a tough pup. 😦
      And yep, I think that’s why I blog, too. Or to sort out things in my head. Or to put worries at ease somewhat, just to get stuff ‘out there’ and out of my head. I wish now that I’d written more on Lu as a baby so I could see how she was, since my memory is so, so bad these days… But I didn’t, so there’s no point wishing.
      Thankyou for your comment. I’ll see if I can find a way to follow yours … Yay! Just saw the follow by email button. I’m useless at visiting websites so email is perfect. 😉

  5. S says:

    Hi!

    Another stalker here… I found your blog after ST’s Foundation Class. I still read it, and like it. Especially the comments, they often have me laughing out loud 😉

    Change is good, so I wouldn’t mind a new layout 🙂

    Keep on analyzing!

    • Em says:

      Hello stalker!
      I’ll have to try and get more comments! Somehow. Hmm… Not sure on that one. 😉
      Maybe I’ll play with layouts when I’m on school holidays next. Thanks for stopping by and reading. I don’t think there’s any danger of me not analysing. 😉

  6. Ha I didn’t even know there is such a thing as a journal style blog 🙂 I blog because I get inspiration to write… these days it’s mostly because of something that I observed. I have to get it out there. I don’t know, I’m still figuring this blogging thing out.
    I read your blog because I love hearing what’s going on with you guys. It’s a dog agility reality show! Well, with more written words, better characters and less video, but actually not much less drama 😉

    • Em says:

      Apparently there is! I guess it makes sense, there’s like the ‘information report’, ‘telling you stuff’ kind of blog, and then there’s the ones like ours where we just say stuff about ourselves and things that are in our head.
      Dog agility reality show! I like that!
      Maybe it needs more video? 😉
      Videos are time consuming.
      Drama I can do, though 😉

      • Ssssshhh I’ll tell you a secret, ok? But you can tell nobody!
        Here it comes: I usually read blogs at work when I get a chance. That means I usually can’t watch videos and can’t comment… I have to go back when I come home to do so. So videos are great, but words give me immediate satisfaction 😉

  7. Now that I can comment (Yay!)

    I blog for me. Just me, and by extension, the dogs. It helps me to have a place to collect my thoughts, track progress or just reminisce. My three Aussies have been SO different, and blogging helps me track the progress and see where we “were” and where we’re ending up. If people read it, great! if not, no worries.

    I pretty much feel that way about my entire life! No one listens to me anyway. 🙂

  8. Hey!
    I read your posts! I like reading about agility and dog nerding in general. And I (er, when I find the time.) blog to keep track of what I’ve done with Feist and all that good stuff. 🙂
    -Tory

  9. Love that we inspired you to find out more about your stalkers. We should really do that.

    Guess we have already said why we blog and why we read / stalk yours. Reading what you are doing with Lu & Loki often spurs a thought over in our world…. More tricks, conditioning work (hill sprints), check out Silva Trkman stuff…. Despite 3 yrs of training and a year of trialling we are pretty much newbies and there is so much to explore in the world of agility. Your thoughts prompt us to go do further research on bits & pieces we think are relevant.

    Plus it is great reading (and watching with the videos) how your dogs progress.

    • Em says:

      That’s really cool actually that I still manage to give you ideas. Personally I feel strange writing in a ‘do things like this’ kind of way, but that you still get ideas and find what I write helpful is so cool.
      To be truthful though I write things like; I SHOULD DO HILL SPRINTS!
      And then do them once
      And then don’t get around to doing them again. (it’s the bloody coming-back-down-the-hill that’s stopped me. Not great on the joints. So either I need to put her in a stay and then /I/ walk up the hill and call her, or I throw a ball up the hill which of course results in her running down the hill to bring it back. Neither work very well. Come people say throw the ball across the hill but surely this isn’t going to give the same benefit… it’d just be like throwing the ball on flat ground but possibly worse for them because they’d be uneven. hmm)

Leave a Reply

