balance

I’m trying very hard at the moment to find a balance between all the things I want/need to do with the dogs, and the available time/daylight hours that are actually available.

Maybe if I was more smarter I could make that into a fancy kind of algebraic equation, like: Total hours in the day – (working + eating + sleeping + occasionally stopping to talk to my husband) – (walking + training Loki + training Lu + doing strength etc tricks with Lu + occasionally paying attention to Mal) = slowly going mad from not being able to fit in everything I want to be able to do.

 

I actually thought really hard about that equation. I used BODMAS and everything.

 

So that pretty much sums it up. I want to be able to give the dogs a decent walk every day- at least half an hour, preferably off-lead. However, Lu is such a turd off lead with her chasing of animals and various turdishness that I have to weigh up whether I suffer stress as a result of her constant chasing, but getting better exercise, or annoyance at having her on-lead and absolutely losing her shit every time we see, hear or smell an animal that has crossed our paths. Luckily Penny is a genius and alerted me to CaniX and her home-made version, and even attested to its awesomeness, so I’ve now rigged Lu up to a hip-belt with padding and she’s suddenly a lot less annoying than she was, but still not 0 annoying. Annoying factor when holding the lead: 12/10. Annoying factor when attached to waist: 7/10. This is a good improvement.

In fact, I would go so far as to say that Lu is a turd, in general. A big, stinky, squishy turd of beautifullness but annoyingness. Gosh she frustrates me. So much. The way she picks on the cats, that she barks at people who show up at the park, that she chases things, that she barks at dogs who are play fighting because they might be actually fighting, that she wants to get IN THE MIDDLE of dog fights (WHY?!). I think having Loki being such a golden puppy has really made me appreciate how much of a bitch she is. Seriously. She’s really getting on my nerves.

Love you, but god you're an annoying shit sometimes.

Love you, but god you’re an annoying shit sometimes.

Anyway, along with the walk, I still actually need to train Lu sometimes (part of my brain is saying: “now that she’s competing and enjoying doing agility, we don’t have to train any more, yay!” but it doesn’t work like that, brain), although being injured myself has been a good enough reason to not do much, or to only do two-jump stuff in the backyard, and that’s been really valuable I think… but even so, she hasn’t weaved, climbed, or run (a dogwalk) in a week. I think this will be ok, but I’m conscious that the weaves are still so new that I don’t really want to stop right now.

I also need to do conditioning tricks with her and make sure she gets some sprinting in for her fitness.  Of course, Loki also needs training, but shouldn’t run as much as the big dogs, and his repertoire of tricks is pretty small at the moment and I don’t want to overdo the same ones and cause problems there. Meanwhile I’d like to take him out to see some rabbits and other animals but then that means that Lu misses out on a walk in the morning.

So I’m trying to find the balance between all of this – how to not ditch training in favour of walks… how to not train too much and still be able to get out for a walk… how to find the energy and time to do tricks with Lu…

Can you just be this sleepy and cute all the time?

Can you just be this sleepy and cute all the time?

What I need, are more daylight hours with the current wintery temperatures.

Problem solved.

 

Hey that’s weird… you get a double dose of me photos today. Enjoy…?

2 thoughts on “balance

  1. I have an australian shepherd and a border collie. I read your posts a lot because you seem to have a great training schedule and regimen. I’m struggling to work with my australian shepherd. My BC was easy to train, but the aussie is very stubborn. I always think, “if only there were more hours in a day…” After work, it’s getting dark and there’s just not enough time to take them to herd sheep or play frisbee. We are going to herd sheep on Sundays but it’s really expensive. I love working with both dogs, but I just don’t have the time to give them the attention they deserve on a daily basis.

    • Em says:

      Glad I’m not the only one with a stubborn Aussie. 😉 It’s really hard to find the time you need, isn’t it? Especially when there’s so much stuff you need to do with them. I bet they’ll both love herding sheep though- it’s something I’ve been meaning to do with Lu but then she had her surgery and now that we’re starting to compete that gives us even less free weekends where we want to drive down to do the training! I also think it’s easier to train the easier dog sometimes, too. Cos it’s just more fun! Hmmmm… hard stuff!

Leave a Reply

