puppy drama 2014: the conclusion/beginning

Well….

We’re getting a puppy.

At the moment his name is Black and that just won’t do, but I need to decide pretty quickly what to call him.

The litter didn’t have much of a theme apart from colours (there was Black, Redley, Tweed and Buff), so if someone has a cool way to say ‘black’ in another language that could be cool… I quite like the verbless Črn of Slovenian. (Andreja would that be said “Chirn” if said phonetically?) but maybe isn’t very easy to say!

Of course there’s “Dexter” going on the Lumen & Dexter theme…

I liked Penny’s suggestion of Chompy but can’t take it seriously. 😉

Need names! Help! 

At this stage it looks like we’ll have him Sunday afternoon! Happening very very fast over here!!!!

23 thoughts on “puppy drama 2014: the conclusion/beginning

  1. WOW WOW WOW We’re getting a puppy!!! And by we I mean you and the rest of us get to pretend and live through the WordPress 🙂
    I don’t think there is a way to write Črn in English 😀 I LOVE that you thought of it, but it wouldn’t be an easy name for a recall… no vowels! Italian word for black (Nero) used to be a popular dog name in Slovenia.
    I found this: Carbonado, commonly known as the “Black Diamond”, is the toughest form of natural diamond. But I can’t think of any good sounding versions of Carbonado… The biggest Carbonado ever found is called Sergio. Does that help? Probably not 🙂

    • Em says:

      Ahahahahaha Sergio makes him sound like a pimp or something, that’s awesome.
      Nero is pretty cool too.
      I figured if the Č makes a ‘ch’ sound (and my memory of Slovenian pronunciation is fading fast), then it would kind of be like that, with less of a short ‘i’ sound. Don’t know if that makes sense, I loves phonetics and word sounds. 😉
      Ooo, another idea: I have Lumen, as in measuring light, maybe I need something to do with Darkness/measuring dark… hmmmmmm!
      I wonder if I have to change the name of the blog, too! 😉

      • Yes, it is Ch-rn, with “-” signifying something we call a half-vowel… it is the “u” at the start of the sound “umm” that you make when you’re speaking in front of the crowd and trying to remember what you wanted to say 😉

      • Em says:

        It’s called a schwa! It’s the best vowel ever and the most used vowel in English but it’s not formally taught. Any vowel can make it and it’s always the unstressed syllable in a word. I heard it once described as the sound you make when you flop into a chair on a Friday afternoon, like ‘euh’. But maybe yours is more of an ‘u’ sound. But I have a feeling it’s the same thing. 😉

      • Yes, schwa! Actually it sounds like the schwa in “rhythm”. And I wrote it wrong, it would be pronounced “ch-r-n” with the stress on first schwa.
        Črni would be pronounced “ch-rnee”, also with stress on the schwa.

  2. Oh you could actually call him Črni (which is another form of word črn). I still have no idea how to write it in English, but it’s easier to pronounce and would work as a recall word.

      • Haha because “črn” doesn’t have ee sound and it sounds a bit depressing 😉
        Anyway, “črni” needs to end like “Lee” (Bruce Lee of course). How about you just call him Lee? Or Bruce? Or both? And teach him some kung-fu moves to go with the name 😀

      • Em says:

        Ahahahaha
        This is my dog, Bruce.
        You probably don’t know but Bruce is a typically like, bogan Australian name. Picture big fat guy, shirt with stains, beer can… BRUCE.
        So maybe not Bruce. 😉

    • Em says:

      You haven’t seen me nerd out over language. It’s my little professional nerdism. 😉
      Yeah, no, I don’t think Bruce is going to happen. Any other suggestions?

    • Em says:

      Oh that’s very cool. Hi across-the-ocean person! Ooooh, you’re on Penny’s friend’s list. I may have blog stalked you some too 🙂 (though not very much)
      Beck is cool except that I have a “Blek” in my little agility group that I teach. 😉

  3. Baaahahahah AGain!! Poor Bruce.
    I remember when I got my first Aussie and named him Ruben, and the lady I got him from was all “PPPft, Ruben is some fat uncle on the couch who you can’t get to take out the garbage!” and I said “nawwwwww” But then, it sorta happened! 😉

    Hey, Black in Estonian is “Must” Sounds a bit like mutt. But I’ve never met a dog named Must before.

    Svart in Norwegian.

    • Penny says:

      Apparently one of the aboriginal languages has ‘migga’ as the word for black. The CEO where i work used to live in Alice and he worked on the camels with a heap of Aboriginal guys. So he called his black Kelpie Migga, but yeah he then realised it sounded a whole lot like Nigger!

Leave a Reply

