new games

Hey, hi.

Been busy. First week of school, putting an offer in on a house (2 acres of FLAT LAND) in the COUNTRYSIDE but only 5 minutes from a train station for Nic and … well… 45 mins to work for me. Ok, I could change schools, but I like my school. I like the kids. They let me have my dog at school.

Anyway. A friend’s friend sent her some notes relating to Justine Davenport. One of the games was to help teach tunnel/jump discrimination. We did the tunnel version this morning (and the jumping one last night). Basically we walked up to the tunnel and I stood there all tense and she was like; OMG DO I GO IN THE TUNNEL NOW? HOW ABOUT NOW? NOW!? NOW NOW NOW!? and then I’d say: “TUNNEL TUNNEL TUNNEL!!!!!” and she’d race through and we’d have a big play with her toy. And then once she did it without me saying and I said; “ok let’s try again!” so we went to the entrance again and did it again. So, excellent learning for Lu: 1) tunnels are good fun when you do them. 2) Tunnels are full of excitement and self-control (and she loves self-control. That whole tense-ready thing is a big draw for her) and 3) It’s more fun to do the tunnel when I say so than when I don’t. I think this could be very excellent for Lu.

I also did the same thing with a jump with excellent results, except that then she didn’t want to do the backside of a jump. But that might have just been forgetting how to do the backside of a jump and also being tired.

Still learning the weaves. Must be careful not to rush. But it’s very difficult, there’s a lot to practise, eg. entries, independence AND closing the weaves. RC was easier because it was just height height height height… I didn’t have to think about other stuff yet. But at the moment she’s finding some entries hard, so do I stay there until the entries are easier? Silvia seemed to suggest that I should close the weaves more and go back to harder entries later. How do I judge when to close the gap? I need a system here. I really liked doing RC because it was black and white- 80% success rate x 3 sessions = raise the height! I can have 80% success rate on WEAVING, but not entries! And as soon as I add a bar or something, that’ll be a whole new ball-game again, so I could be training entries forever but never be able to close the weaves.

The other day I sent her around a jump-wing with no bar and into a straight weave entry and she couldn’t do it. So weird. Good excuse to do fast straight entries though.

Help! Someone give me a system. I need to watch the DVD again. Not sure when I’ll have time. Would like my own training area now so I can set tunnels up around the place for discrimination. Very impatient for this now.

Hoping for a beach trip this weekend. Also visiting Tink again. Made my mind up by about 90% that I’d like to get her, just DREADING the whole puppy thing again, then teenage energy levels, biting, sharp claws… That being said, her breeder (Amanda) sent me this message yesterday: “you should have seen Tink yesterday! She LOVES the tunnel! Raced through the tunnel full pelt and then turned to chase the puppies. Gosh she is entertaining!! And sooooo cheeky!”

Oh lord, like I need more cheeky in my life, but doesn’t she sound awesome? ADULT DOG TUNNEL.

 

Here she is. Just cos.

1186168_574391375985451_680592998_n

5 thoughts on “new games

  1. Boy, I sure hear you on the puppy thing. I have a pal with a male Aussie that I LOVE TO DEATH and she’s talking about him being used in a breeding this summer. And it makes my head spin, because besides my own dogs of course… I love Love LOVE him. And a puppy version of him would be incredible.

    But I just FINISHED raising a pup (Rumble) and yeah, it’s a lot of work.

    But Tink sounds AWESOME and we obviously need some pictures and video of her… so we can dream along.

    • Em says:

      It’s very hard isn’t it? I’ve always loved Tahli and her attitude and temperament, although I don’t really know the sire, he’s apparently produced some nice pups…
      But yeah, exactly, Lu’s just coming out of the teenagery stage now… uuurgh.
      I’ll post some more pictures for your viewing pleasure and try and get some movies when I see her this weekend. 😉

  2. How old is Lu? I already have my nextdog breed picked out ..will be arriving in 2016, actually! I am holding out because I can’t imagine doing foundations PLUS still trying to do so much work with Penny!

    • Em says:

      What’s your next breed?!
      But yes, I know what you mean, but at the same time for Lu, having the pressure of being ‘the only agility dog’ taken off would probably be really, really good, and being able to have more breaks more often and to see somebody else getting to have the fun would probably be really helpful, too. Plus she might actually have a friend who plays with her more so they can both be super fit. 😉

Leave a Reply

