Lu’s recovery: phase 2

Bright-eyed, bushy-tailed!

Bright-eyed, bushy-tailed!

We have entered phase 2 of Lu’s recovery. It’s not an actual ‘thing’, just how I’m marking the changes she’s going through. Phase 2 is: Lu feels pretty normal and is ready to get back into long hikes and running around.

Yesterday she slept most of the day, and moved between looking sad and in pain and being closer to her normal self…

Today, I think I pretty much have 100% ‘normal Lu’ Β back, with a bit of a defiant streak that I think comes from being given pills and having the cone put on every time she comes near me.

This morning I took her into the yard to have a wee, and she wanted to zoom around and tackle Mal, and picked up the most mundane twig and was all like: CHECK OUT MY FULLY RAD STICK ISN’T IT THE BEST STICK EVER LET’S PLAY WITH THE STICK! HERE I’LL JUMP ON YOU SO YOU CAN PLAY WITH ME AND THE STICK LET’S GO LET’S GO LET’S GO!!!!!”

At this point I called the vet and asked if it would be ok if I could pretty please take her for a nice calm on-lead walk down at the park or she will go crazy. Luckily he said yes. Off we went. Of course, I should have put her in her harness or halti because she’s using her full strength to pull me from smell to smell. I’ll remember that next time. I think they were both very glad to be out.

Another really interesting thing I’ve noticed is how much of a momma’s girl she’s become- she’s either been sleeping on her soft blanket or, when she’s in pain or unsettled, she plonks herself directly on my lap, or pushes herself so close against my leg that her bones dig in. So comfy. Usually at night, she hops on the bed down at my feet until I turn off the light, then she gets off… Last night she was on the bed pretty much all night, either between Nic and I with her head on my legs, or curled up as my ‘little spoon’. Keep in mind it was about 27C in our house last night so… yeah, warm times.

 

But everything looks good. She’s having bowel movements, she’s peeing, she’s drinking (though not as much as I’d like. They now have a little faux chicken stock in their water which they had a big drink of earlier), she’s eating (I still have to keep the meals small and start building them up. This morning’s was probably a little large so hopefully it’ll be ok) and she’s bright and alert most of the time. We’re back to the vet for a checkup tomorrow morning, and then off to a friend (who is also a vet) who does acupuncture. Her dog had stomach ulcers once and she now wonders how much better she would have recovered if she had used her acupuncture skills. I’ve never been much to believe in acupuncture but apparently even the World Health Organisation says it can be an effective treatment for a whole list of conditionsΒ , which I find quite remarkable. I’m looking forward to picking her brain, as a medical-science-oriented person about how it all works.

 

Completely unrelated but Silvia said this on my final Foundations video and comment:Β Can’t wait she starts trialing, you’ve done such a great job with her!

Awww, Yay!

9 thoughts on “Lu’s recovery: phase 2

  1. Whew!!! so glad she’s feeling better. And I”M SO GLAD to see her tail! When I saw the vet wrap on the tail in the other pictures I’m all “WHY THE HELL DID THEY SHAVE HER TAIL” and Tammy talked me off the ledge and explained that they only wrapped it so nothing gets in it while Lu is having potty problems and all and I settled way down. I was going to FIGHT for your lovely tailed dog!

    • Em says:

      HAHAH, I know! When i saw her after surgery and her stomach was shaved, then I saw her tail and I was like: NOOOOOOOOOOO… I think I asked them about 5 times whether it was shaved or not, they reassured me it wasn’t. It’s been really funny because night before last the bandage started slipping off, so she had a bit of a nubbin exposed, very fluffy… so they had to put more tape on the top, so her tail was extended probably by a good 2 inches.. which, given how long it already is, just made her look like a freak. πŸ˜‰

  2. So nice to see her looking so… normal again πŸ™‚ And it sounds like she’s really feeling much much better! Though I see in my crystal ball that mommy’s girl will only be visiting for a few days at most. Lu will be back to her old self real soon… but that will be good in the summer, right?
    Yay for Silvia’s comment!!! Now where’s the video? πŸ˜‰

    • Em says:

      Yes it’s very nice to have almost all the paraphenalia off her now, though she still has the e-collar on sometimes more for her front leg where the IV was that left a bit of a rash.
      I suspect you’re right about mommy’s girl only being around for a few days πŸ˜‰ Though she still uses me if she can’t get settled. Apparently if all the other beds are too uncomfortable, I’ll do.
      As for video, the only most recent session I had I posted here:
      https://lifeoflumen.wordpress.com/2014/01/08/future-plans/
      Otherwise there was just some weaves, which I may have posted somewhere but aren’t very interesting cos they’re still very much a channel (20cms wide)

      • Regarding mommy’s girl… I was just observing what I would expect from Ruby at that age πŸ˜‰
        Oh yeah that video looks great, especially the dog walk and how she speeds up when you say Go go go πŸ™‚
        I just realized when watching it again that Lu tends to throw her front legs forward before she clears the jump (vs tucking them away until after she clears it) which could cause those bars to come down. Unless of course it was due to handling which I really don’t know enough about to tell. Did you try Susan Salo’s set point exercise with Lu? And if you did, did she tuck her front legs away for that?

      • Em says:

        Ahh, interesting – well I’ll be interested to see if Lu stays as cuddly or if it fades off!

        And yes, she very much throws her front legs up, I’ve seen that too, though I don’t know what usually causes the bars to come down – the first one was lack of direction about the next obstacle and she got it with her stomach… there was one where I didn’t tell her to turn well so as she was coming over she realised we were turning and took it down with her elbows in the turn, and one where it was a typical Lu jump looking ahead for the ball and not at the bar and chesting it, I think. Can you tell I like analysing? πŸ˜‰ I think the jumping on that video was much nicer than what I’ve seen on that height but then again it’s still not a straight line which is where she really seems to struggle.
        I’ve done a couple of set-points recently with her, and I did some when she was a puppy but didn’t see the point so stopped (whoops).
        There was a more recent one than this but I didn’t upload it cos it’s not the most exciting viewing. πŸ˜‰

        So yep, seems like she tucks her paws away better there.

    • Em says:

      Great idea! I was thinking about dog icypoles earlier but since she’s on strict rations and foods I didn’t bother but I reckon some chicken juice (from the chicken I boiled for her) or some watered down stock (can’t have too much salt) could do the trick! I’ll make them tonight for tomorrow!

  3. Yeah, it could be the handling…
    I can’t say for sure, but I think she’s not folding front legs on the last leg of distance grid, but she is folding them on bounce grid? Perhaps it’s fine as long as she knows when to tuck them away and when she can have them extended? I’m not really that much into Susan Salo stuff, though I do the grids from time to time. I would do it more often if it was more convenient πŸ˜‰ If you want ideas you can ask Katarina Simonic on Canine Jumping Forum who does a lot of SS stuff and says her sheltie has stopped knocking bars as a result. I’m sure she will be happy to help.

Leave a Reply

