handling

Ok, I’ve been thinking about this a bit, particularly in relation to how my handling affects Lu’s jumping…

And I’ve decided that I’m not that great at it. Somehow whatever I did worked with Mal, but it’s not going to cut it with Lu. For example, the little sequence I did on the video the other day? Half the time I wasn’t telling her where to go. Jeez I’m glad I rewarded her one time when she knocked a bar and went and did that tunnel because sure enough, that’s what I was telling her to do.

So I need some help here…

One option would be a Silvia handling class, and I love Silvia, we all know that, but sometimes her handling feels a bit frantic, I guess?

But, woah… hey… Β I was just looking for videos from Janita from One Mind Dogs, and I found this one:

Ok it’s really dark but…there were jumps in there that had Lumen landings (almost 4 legs at once). Yay!

So, that’s my other option, would be to poke around OMD’s website… I don’t like their lame sales video but I do like how their handling looks like a dance, how they focus on the dog’s path and take-off point, how they have lots of different moves you can use based on your dog’s strengths and the situation you’re faced with… It seems like everyone who does OMD is a huge believer in what they do, which has to say something…

Urgg, so I don’t know.
See, this lady does OMD handling on US-style courses and it looks quite nice…

 

Ok since I wrote this, I’ve bitten the bullet and we’re heading to Sydney for an OMD seminar in April. It surelyΒ can’t hurt to learn some stuff, even if I don’t buy into their marketing. Good thing Nic wants to do the touristy thing in Sydney anyway. πŸ˜‰

(And Penny, I’m sorry if you want to disown me or something for doing the One Mind Dogs thing, but I have to do something! πŸ˜› )

11 thoughts on “handling

  1. Hey, ANY learning is good learning.

    Jumping, to me anyway, is a weird mix of signal recognition, positioning, general communication between dog and handler and athleticism of dog/handler.

    meaning, it can certainly be a crap shoot.

    I hope you really love the seminar and get great things out of it.

    • Em says:

      Agreed! And being able to read her line better in order to tell her where to go sooner and with more clarity HAS to be useful for her too, I figure. πŸ™‚
      And yes, I agree about what you said about jumping, and I think the first 3 things are pretty weak with us right now – hopefully the seminar will help. πŸ™‚

  2. I would love to handle like Silvia T πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Unfortunately I have a difficult time learning from her as I need lots of structure and explanation of general rules (not rules like “thou shall never blind cross” but like “if you do X here the dog will land here and if you do X here he will land over there”). OMD seem to have the kind of information I seek… can’t wait to find out πŸ™‚

    • Em says:

      Exactly. πŸ˜€ And if I step like this, it’ll make her do this, and I should be cuing HERE because she is seeing THIS…
      It should be really interesting! I’ll let you know how it goes!

  3. Penny says:

    CAPS LOCK ! I DON’T DISLIKE ONE MIND DOGS!!!!

    SERIOUSLY!!

    WHY DOES EVERYONE THINK I HATE EVERYONE?

    I ALSO DON’T HATE SUSAN GARRET

    OR GREG DERRETT

    OR CLOWNS

    But I do hate mosquitoes. It’s true. I hate them a lot.

  4. Hi Em – reading back through your posts. Great stuff. The OMD stuff has really got some traction with a large number here in Sydney (not sure what Melb is like). Not sure if you were aware but some of the girls up here have Noora (one of the OMD instructors) out here for a seminar in April. Tsuey, one of the organisers, also sells their training DVD which is a good background. Here website which includes details for the seminar is http://gameondogs.com.au/onemind-dogs.html. We have been learning the background and some of the basics and love it…. It is lots of fun to run!!! There is also a group on Facebook for Australian OneMind Agility Enthusiasts which is full of people posting videos of them learning and Janiata is also in the group and regularly comments and gives advice.
    Hope this gives you something to keep your mind of Lu and hope she gets better soon.

    • Em says:

      Awesome! Nobody down here does it as far as I’m aware- much more of a Garrett/Derret following, and some Silvia Trkman people around (myself included), so I might be a bit of a pioneer. πŸ˜‰ I’ll be interested to see who, if anybody, comes up from Melb.
      We’re there Mon-Tue-Weds for an audit spot, so we’ll be seeing you there!
      I’ll go check out the FB group now! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

