new year’s eve & 2014 plans

Sorry if there’s some messed up code in this post, I was trying to link it to a slideshow somewhere else but it refused to work and now I can’t find the code anywhere to delete it. 

Epic, awesome, best way to spend New Year’s Eve: renegade camping on the dog beach with a campfire, watching the sunset, chatting about dogs and other stuff, cooking marshmallows and bananas with chocolate in their skins, seeing fireworks go off across the bay – far enough away that you can hardly hear them, dogs running, playing, wrestling, carrying sticks.

Not so great: sand. so much sand. & Lu needing to ‘defend the ranch’ by trying to bail-up passers-by in the morning.

Instead of ‘resolutions’ here are my plans for this year:

-begin competing with Lu. Not sure when – when she’s ready, when I’m happy enough with her jumping, when she can weave and do an A-frame. I don’t expect her jumping to be 100% by the time we start, and at the same time I think she needs that exposure to jumps in different contexts to figure out what to do. That experience, plus added confidence will hopefully develop her jumping style over time. Weaves shouldn’t take more than another couple of months – I’m not rushing them, just enjoy gradually making the entrance challenges more difficult, and building her independence.

-more adventures, and balancing adventuring with competing – this will be a challenge, particularly as the best hiking time is going to be winter (no snakes) and most of the competitions happen in winter. Hmmm! But we want to check out some new places this year when the weather gets cool again, and try and do some overnight hikes, or overnight camping with the car. Also more hiking in the snow, since that’s so much fun.

-finding a new place where I can train and hold classes on our own property. This then means buying more equipment (a seesaw, to start! Then maybe a tire) and making equipment (broad jump, jump wings).

-starting Lu in a herding trial, and maybe Rally-O, too. I’d love to get her started in some tracking training, too! So much stuff.

-get back to running to 10km. I was there once, if I can find the time, I can get there again.

So, that’s what I’m aiming for. Hoping you all had a fantastic New Year’s Eve, whatever you got up to. 🙂

Also, I just made this for Penny. Thanks very much, 1-semester’s worth of photoshop class at Uni.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, and also there was this. (very very happiness)

And on that note, so begins our 4-5 (or so) day break from Agility. Hopefully there’ll be some adventures though, since I’m still on holidays. And maybe I’ll try and teach her a new trick (or sharpen up one she’s learning, like the vault off my chest, or snorkle on command, or … something else? Suggestions? Maybe bowl in bowl, and work on toy into toybox…)

3 thoughts on “new year’s eve & 2014 plans

  1. Wow, she is awesome, this Lumen of Down Under! Amazing dog walk skillz!

    And that photo of Penny & Nic & the dogs made me feel like I was right there on the beach. I don’t know what it is about that photo, if I could I would make all the photos in the world that way, so I would feel teleported all the time 🙂

    Oh and I love the Photoshop Pan 😉

Leave a Reply

