magical wizardry

I spent literally an hour this afternoon creating this picture after I decided I needed a picture to go with the post. And anyway, why wouldn't you create a picture of your dog as a wizard when you have nothing else to do.

I spent literally an hour this afternoon creating this picture after I decided I needed a picture to go with the post. And anyway, why wouldn’t you create a picture of your dog as a wizard when you have nothing else to do.

 

The man does T-Touch among other strange sounding things. I liked very much how he let the dogs settle in and sniff around and didn’t force them to do anything. He put a wrap on Lu. Surprisingly, she didn’t freeze up but she was awkward. He said to her: “you can lay down if you want” and I kind of laughed- Lumen, lay down, and RELAX?! In a strange place?! With a weird thing on her body?! You’ve got to be kidding me! She wandered around for about another 5-10 minutes, then lay down next to him and fell fast asleep on his shoes. Huh? Then, he put his hands on her and they sat like that for a while as he asked me questions like:
“With her front and rear end do you think there’s awareness and connection?”
To which I replied:
“Awareness, definitely, she prefers to use her back-feet when shaping. Connection? No. I would say her front and back half work almost independently of one another sometimes.” And he nodded, like as I thought, and continued to have his hands on her. Then she sleepily stood up and sleepily went and hopped on the armchair and sleepily curled up like an arctic fox in her bushy tail and just conked out. Even when birds were like CRASHBANGSQUAK against the side of the shed, she woke up for a moment, and fell back asleep.

And he told me  a lot that I didn’t really understand about the nervous system and lymphatic rhythms and stuff and I glazed over a bit as he held Mallei’s feet (who wasn’t really keen to be there because maybe he was a vet and also he had a clipboard and apparently that was super frightening). Then Mal fell asleep too and stopped barking at things so much.

Today I took them both to Mt. Evelyn reserve and Lu seemed very cheerful and nicely focused as I did some tricks there (also, unrelated, I am THIS CLOSE to having her ‘limp’ independently, without leaning on my hand. SO COOL), and she came to check in on me beautifully. I don’t know if she’s any ‘different’ yet, to be honest, and I’m very skeptical if his voodoo magic will work, but if I see a happier, calmer dog who is more confident and powerful in her skin, I’ll be happy. He said that because she is SO sensitive of her perception of her space/self (as in, hates having things on her, etc), possibly doing the wraps and stuff will make her more confident and powerful because her perception of that space will change. So, that could be interesting particularly in regards to her jumping.
Tonight is our prep information night. It feels weird to not go home and obsess over my dog. Is this what normal people do?

 

4 thoughts on “magical wizardry

  1. Amanda says:

    I love the pic of wizard Lu 🙂

    I think go for a couple of sessions and you will start to see the differences ;). I told you it was weird! Hahahaha

    • Em says:

      Yeah I’ll try a few. He had some good stories about things that have happened to your guys and I really think Lu has a lot of stress-energy, so it’ll be interesting to see!

  2. Interesting ..I think it’s probably a change in attitude from the owner as much as some voodoo magic from the t-touch guy! Some people claim it works wonders, others not so much. I’m interested in what happens with your girl!

  3. Penny says:

    Oh so glad I saw this post. Mostly for the wizard and then because of Voodoo Ttouch guy. Awesome. Sounds really interesting. I am going to the one armed viking tomorrow night. See how we go on the return visit.

Leave a Reply

